Listen to your body

20 Oct

Do you ever walk down the stairs and you knees and ankles crack? Or when you squat, whether that is for a max lift or just sitting in a chair, is there a pinch in your knee? The noises that your body is making is a way of telling you there is something wrong. For a really long time I had no idea what “listen to your body” meant. I have been constantly on the go with sports and exercising since I can remember. There was never a point in time where I stopped and listen to what my body was trying saying to me until recently.

I spent 9 years of my life running, jumping, tumbling, and landing on my knees. Year after year my knees were slowly wearing out because I never gave them a chance to rest. It wasn’t until I started squatting heavy that I noticed something was not right. I would have terrible knee pain every time I used my knee under load. My body was trying to tell me something was wrong and I had been ignoring that message for a long time.

Now a month out after a partial patellar tendonectomy to my left knee, I am finally preaching what I refused to listen to. Listen to what your body is telling you! If a movement hurts you, don’t do it. If something snaps, cracks, or pops, figure out why. Is it because you are not doing enough mobility? or is there a deeper issue to look into? Treat your body with care, you only get one.

Leave a Reply

